Hello Barcelona!

We have almost completed week one of our time here in Barcelona. This week has been simply amazing. We arrived in Barcelona on Tuesday around 9 a.m., and we were exhausted from our 14 hour trip. When we arrived in Barcelona our host families met us at the school where we are teaching, and took us home to rest up. Later that day we had an orientation meeting, where we met our mentor teachers, and were given our weekly schedules. I was placed in a 6th grade girls classroom, and I already love this class so much! Day 2 was when the adventure really started, as we began teaching at RMSI. I have already learned so much, and am very excited to work with the Students here in Barcelona.

I have the pleasure of staying with a host family while I am here in Barcelona, and they are the sweetest. I was welcomed with open arms, and they have been so helpful in helping me adjust to the culture here in Spain. There are two children in my family, Pía and Luis. Luis LOVES fútbol, and Pía enjoys playing volleyball. My host parents are very excited for me to be here, and for me to tutor the children in English. Tutoring has been interesting so far. Luis is learning his alphabet, and Pía prefers to speak Spanish. However, I have found that just having conversations with the children in English has been effective, and reading with Luis is something that he enjoys; Pía, not so much. I am looking forward to building a relationship with my host family over the course of the next two weeks.

Barcelona is absolutely beautiful! I have had the opportunity this weekend to explore the city with some of the other student teachers, and it has been a blast. On Friday night we went to Parc Güell, and we were able to take in some amazing views and figure out how the public transportation worked. We also ran into more of the student teachers there, and two other WKU students who are currently studying abroad. On Saturday, we explored the city center, Gothic center, La Rambla, and the Sagrada Familia. I have been blown away by the beauty in all of these places, but I have to say that none are as beautiful as the Sagrada Familia. Learning about Gaudi, and the history of this masterpiece was amazing, and truly breath-taking. Later this weekend we plan to visit La Rambla again as the city celebrates St. Jordi’s day. We are told the street will be full of roses and books, as the people celebrate the day that St. Jordi played the dragon, and saved the Princess and the people.

We have a little over two weeks here in Barcelona, and there is still so much to be done and learned!

18033370_10207550039743010_1484854014960925696_n

18056757_10207550017422452_8047426938431055174_n18033361_10207550461433552_473228927374099186_n

17990885_10207550021862563_8736951082879846007_n

 

 

Leave a Reply

